The George Bush High School Public Service Scholarship

About the George H.W. Bush High School Public Service Scholarship

The George H.W. Bush High School Public Service Scholarship Awards recognize high school seniors in the Bryan-College Station school districts for their community service. President Bush was devoted to public service, which he described as a noble calling, and hoped to inspire future generations to personally participate in supporting their communities. Recipients are selected based on academic excellence and community service and receive a $3,000 scholarship. Additionally, each recipient’s school receives a grant of $2,500 for education purposes. The program is sponsored through the generous support of Bryan Texas Utilities (BTU). Students interested in the George Bush High School Public Service Scholarship should contact their high school’s counseling department.

Student Criteria

  • The student should be a graduating senior.
  • The student should be in good academic standing with a minimum GPA of 3.5 (B+ average).
  • The student must plan to attend an accredited college or university.
  • The student must demonstrate an exemplary record of school and community involvement.

Counselors, please submit applications to the address below:

George & Barbara Bush Foundation High School Public Service Scholarship P.O. Box 14141 College Station, TX 77841-4141

For more information, please contact us at

Each school’s counseling department selects a single finalist. The finalist’s completed application must be received by April 1. A letter of recommendation from the school and an official transcript should be included with the submitted application. The Board of Trustees at the George & Barbara Bush Foundation will select six recipients to receive the scholarship.

Instructions for Selected Recipients

The student must submit a 100-150 word bio and headshot by June 1. Additionally, the financial aid information form must be submitted by July 1. Scholarship payments will be made directly to the school designated by the recipient.

2020 Scholarship Recipients


Jacob Eakerv, A&M Consolidated High School Kendall Kacal, Allen Academy Guillermo Aguilar, Bryan Collegiate High School Shelby Williams, Bryan High School Hunter Norwood, College Station High School Rylie Philipello, Rudder High School


Dung Pham, A&M Consolidated High School Maribel Escorza, Bryan Collegiate High School Christine McCall, Bryan High School Ty Sanders, College Station High School Daisy Rodriguez-Mejia, Rudder High School Faith Starnes, St. Joseph Catholic School